top of page

Ready or not!


I guess I should have known just by looking that the bike would not fit in this box

The fam

So, tomorrow is the big day!

I have everything all packed up, by bike and belongings are sitting in my Dad's truck, as I scramble to ensure everything else is squared away for my departure. That said, I am still not sure the reality of this has set in. Perhaps it will set in tomorrow?

The last two weeks spent in BC have been really good! Just as much a whirlwind as my last two weeks in Winnipeg. Unpacking, visiting Whistler for Crankworx, visiting with famiy, picking blackberries, showing Winnipeg friends around Vancouver's coffee scene (in addition to dragging them up a mountain in the summer heat), celebrating a friend's marriage on Vancouver Island, and repacking.

I also managed to find time to cycle down to Gastown (without my copious amounts of gear) to pick up a pair of jeans that I needed hemmed! 150km roundtrip! Felt pretty good to get out on the bike and go for a nice long ride! Not entirely sure if this trip has me completely prepared for what is to come, but it can't hurt!

About packing. I got home on Saturday afternoon from visiting Vancouver Island for a family friend's wedding and I started to pack up my bicycle. Upon taking half of it apart, I realized that there was no way that I would be able to put everything into the box that I got when I purchased the bike. Panic. Sunday morning I took a stroll down to Tantalus Bike Shop, who fortunately had a bike box to spare that was considerably larger than the one I had originally. Sunday I proceeded to put the back end of the bike back together (which is arguably the most complicated aspect of my bike) and fit it into the new bike box! All of this while battling the 30+ degree heat that British Columbia has been getting over the last three days.

Today I spent most of my time gathering all the things I need for my time away, and pack them into my carry-on/personal item, and bike box. It became a fun game of how much I can fit into the bike box before going over the 70 pound limit, while ensuring that my carry-on luggage is within the limits as well. I should be right up against the upper limits on all fronts, but I justify a little extra weight in exchange for a little extra comfort. Like a down jacket for when it's cold, or a little chair for when I really don't want to sit on the wet ground. Good news just came through for when I arrive in London! After I manage to get my bicycle together, and all my gear secured on Leia, I have a place to stay via WarmShowers in London! It took me a couple tries to find a host that was able to take me in for the night. Should break up the ~65mile ride to Luton to visit my friend Sarah quite nicely. This way only have to go 25 miles after landing in Gatwick, then ride the other 40 on Thursday! Best, Gavyn.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page